There’s still beauty in the world.

10 Nov

After our first venture out exploring land and looking at the properties with the criteria we envisioned, we took a few days off. Had a rainy weekend ahead of us. The RV park had a no tarps rule so of course we were concerned about that small leak we had our first rainy day with the trailer. After about an hour of rain (in the middle of the night) James got up to check the leak, fully prepared to climb on the roof and pitch that tarp up and face the possible consequences and plea for them to allow us to keep it up until the rain passed. And..YAY!! No leak. Remember after our first leak we were hoping it was just an issue with the trailer being level, so we picked one up, and my friends,  Level! Level, Level! Add that to your travel list. So we had our rainy days, we curled up together, watched movies. (Cable is shady and the campground had dvd’s to rent, for free, how cool is that!!)

I’m glad cable is shady. I’m glad that I don’t have it to rely on. I’m not gonna lie, it’s fucking killing me that I am weeks behind on some of my shows!! And I’m serious about that people, not a proud thing to admit to. But sometimes we need restrictions to remember that there is still life without tv’s and iPhones. It’s called human interaction. So here comes the good old fashioned games, the ones you don’t need anything for but light. The game Tenzi, I highly recommend it (thank you mom for buying it for me last xmas, love it)! Played several rounds but it can get a little loud with all the dice throwing and yelling and we don’t need to scare the neighbors. So lets try cards, how about Speed (I’m not a poker fan)? Haven’t played that since maybe middle school in the commons on lunch break, you all know what I’m talking about.  😉  So we look it up for a refresher and it all comes back, easy enough and I need to show James the ropes so we take several practice rounds, yes I went easy on the guy but when it came time to make it count, I slayed him!!! Which is an actual feat. This guy kicks ass at anything he does. The absolute most adorable moment was when he beat me and I swear it was as if he won the World Series! I laughed so hard with nothing but love in that laughter it was so great. The kids did not love the screaming (much like they don’t when our baseball or football teams are kicking ass) and jumping, they just don’t understand, but I loved how excited he was about winning a game, we’ve played many a rounds since then and he’s getting better, but not up to my speed. 

Well, after our fun indoors days we took a day trip up north to Olympia, and WOW was it a beautiful day. We took some time to walk around downtown area by the capitol building and around a lake. So many people out running or walking their dogs, just anything to enjoy the day. Beautiful sunny days are much more appreciated than they are in San Diego, I mean we (they) do have about 300+ of them a year. And the fall colors here, something I haven’t experienced in I don’t know how long. Refreshing. Back to house hunting. After looking at rural properties in need of rehab, just focusing in the area around our rv site, taking into account what would need to be done, where we’d get the means to do so, time, money etc. we talked about the what if? Yes, we came out here with visions of land and raising chickens and gardening and who the fuck knows what else, but without seeing and traveling the area in person you can never really know. So James broadened the search. Now properties and stipulations and criteria are malleable. Perhaps we buy a property in a higher price bracket, maybe flip?? Maybe less rural with acreage and more quaint with promise?

Well now I don’t fucking know! Neither of us do. The adventure continues. 

Leave a Reply

