A Sorry to Daddy (a.k.a. Crawford, our cat)

29 Nov

If you’re familiar with the Pacific Northwest then you know all about the rain, and here we are at the tail end of the largest temperate rainforest in the world so, well, we get wet. This little 27′ trailer home of ours is no exception. There is condensation everywhere. Weeks ago, before we arrived in Washington, we were shopping for supplies and saw a dehumidifier for $70. Thought the size might be too big, so we bought these little bags that collect water in the air and hung them throughout. Yes, they did collect some but the windows were always damp, like, drops covering the windows and water would pool in the windowsill, damp. Well, after a couple times of having the blinds open Daddy figured out that he could lick them clean! He loves water!!!! ​​

See the bag thing there. Yeah, Crawford licks more than that daily I’m pretty sure. So this became his new obsession. And it’s so damn adorable I totally gave into it and would open the blinds for him. 

In the mornings James would close the door to the bedroom so I could sleep in, see he’s an early to sleep early to rise kinda guy and I’m the opposite. Well after he does his biz, has his coffee and everyone’s fed, he’d take the kids on a walk to do their biz. When they’d get back he’d let them in to greet me jumping on the bed with kisses. And Daddy would come in too and try to climb behind the shades, (venetian blinds, bleh!) which would make so much noise I’d just have to open the damn things! Well, then he wanted that every morning, on his own time, so he figured out he could just squeeze his little self under the door. Damn him! Now I had to open the blinds or listen to him clambering behind the damn things and not sleep. Who’s the winner? Hmm, there’s a reason he’s The Daddy. When finished he’d just sit and look outside, all satisfied and content with his bad self. Well, there’s just too much wetness and we had to give in and buy a damn dehumidifier. Bought a midsize one, holds 6 gallons, plugged it in yesterday around 4:30 and woke up this morning to moist free windows!! That fucker works! It’s $250 but clearly proved it’s worth. So this morning, Daddy comes crawling under the door and I sadly had to deliver the bad news.   This is how the window looked when I opened it, dry and clear. Poor guy’s searching for the drops of water. 

“I’m sorry Daddy. But we still have the bathtub faucet.” 

Which is a thing. Seriously, he jumps into the tub when we’re on the pot, or brushing our teeth, and we (I say we but it’s really mostly me) put the faucet on slow drip and he just laps it up. I really did feel sad opening those blinds for him this morning, and I’m pretty sure I saw disappointment. But dagnamit, it feels so much better in here! And we dumped out all 6 of those gallons of water just over 24 hours later. I’m sorry Daddy. ❤️

Meet me up in my morning biz and I’ll hook you up with some bathtub faucet drips. 

2 Responses to “A Sorry to Daddy (a.k.a. Crawford, our cat)”

  1. Shelley Yanak November 29, 2016 at 6:17 pm #

    So adorable, your blog! I hope you two have a great holiday season, and that you find a real good deal on a home without wheels soon! Love to you both! From us both!

Leave a Reply

